CiS Research Institute is a founding member of the association "Advanced UV for Life e.V."


UV light can be used in a variety of ways. As an environmentally friendly solution for the disinfection of medical devices and surfaces, new applications have been developed and manufacturing technologies pushed at the latest since the Corona pandemic. The newly founded association "Advanced UV for Life e.V. - Verband zur Förderung von UV-Halbleitertechnologien" bundles the competences from industry and science along the entire value chain - from the concept to the UV semiconductor to its application. The players want to advance technological developments and quickly transfer research results into applications. As a communication platform, cooperation exchange and interest group, the association will network developers and end users and provide the public, politicians and the media with comprehensive information on new products and services. It will also serve as a central interface for expert bodies, committees, and legal and normative regulations.

The association continues the activities of the consortium of the same name, which has been funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research over the past eight years as part of the Twenty20 program. In this value chain, the CiS Research Institute represents assembly and packaging  technology (AVT) and was responsible for the area of modules and measurement technology. This topic area combines semiconductor technologies for the production of the components with the application fields. Here, innovative assembly technologies are developed, investigated and optimized - depending on the specific applications. Based on these R&D results, costs are reduced and the long-term stability and high performance of UV radiation sources and UV sensors, especially LEDs, photodiodes and laser diodes, are guaranteed.

The office of the new association is located at the Ferdinand-Braun-Institut in Berlin.
In addition to Prof. Dr. Michael Kneissl (Technische Universität Berlin and Ferdinand-Braun-Institut) as chairman, Prof. Dr. Michael Heuken (AIXTRON SE), Dr. Martin Straßburg (OSRAM Opto Semiconductors GmbH), Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Westerhoff (Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft) and Dr. Olaf Brodersen (CiS Forschungsinstitut für Mikrosensorik GmbH) were elected to the board.

More info: